Our Staff

Profiles and details of the AIS academic staff can be found under their respective programme pages.

Below is a list of our management team and the student services marketing staff.

Executive Team

  • Y. S. Hsieh

    Chairman
    BSc Military Academy Taiwan

  • John Wood

    CEO
    BEng CYCU Taiwan

  • Dr Julia Hennessy

    President
    PhD (AUT), MEd (Victoria), MMgt (Massey), PG Dip HSM (Massey), BA (Victoria), DipN (Wellington Polytechnic)
    Email: juliah@ais.ac.nz

Academic Directors

  • Prof. Richard Goodall

    Director for Business Administration
    BEd Monash, BCom Melb, MEc Sydney, EdD Nevada, FCIS, AccMLEADR
    Email: richardg@ais.ac.nz

  • Terry Leotta

    Director for English Language and Learning Support
    BA, MA (Hons) Auck, CELTA, IDLTM
    Email: terryl@ais.ac.nz

  • Leigh Quadling-Miernik

    Director for Business, Hospitality and Tourism
    M.Ed (elearning), Dip.T.E.F.L.A, BSc, DipTeaching

  • Dr Michael Watts

    Academic Head of Information Technology Programmes
    BSc (Hons), PhD Otago
    Email: michaelw@ais.ac.nz

Academic Leaders

  • Dr Adam Brown

    Acting Academic Leader, Business
    MA, Univ of Edinburgh, PhD, Univ of Edinburgh, Cert TEFL, Aston Univ
    Email: adamb@ais.ac.nz

  • Dr Semisi Taumoepeau

    Academic Leader of Tourism Programmes / Director of Pasifika Studies and Relations
    BSc Auck, CertTP Bradford, CertTM Hawai’I, MSc Surrey, DBA USC

  • Zaina Theresa

    Academic Leader, Hospitality Programmes
    BSc, BHM, PGDipHA, MIHM (Hons.)

Student Services - Marketing

Our marketing staff are your first point of contact for information about AIS, our programmes, and how to apply, so please do not hesitate to contact our Student Services - Marketing officers on the telephone numbers and email addresses listed below:

  • Stephen Johnson

    Marketing Director
    Phone: +64 9 815 3763
    Phone: +64 21 414 811
    Email: stephenj@ais.ac.nz

  • Deborah Hollier

    Student Services Marketing Consultant
    Domestic institutional pathways, European and Russia/CIS markets, pastoral care, homestay management and compliance
    Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 838
    Email: deborahh@ais.ac.nz

  • China

    • Scarlett Li

      Senior Marketing Executive – China
      Phone: +64 9 815 3761
      Email: junyal@ais.ac.nz

    • Weijun (David) Liu

      Project Co-ordinator
      Phone: +64 9 815 3778
      Email: weijunl@ais.ac.nz

  • Indian Sub-Continent

  • South East Asia/Middle East

    • Djaja Kurniawan Kusno

      Senior Marketing Executive
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 858
      Email: djajak@ais.ac.nz

  • Domestic/Pasifika

  • Japan

    • Yu Morikawa

      Marketing Manager - Japan
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 842
      Email: japan@ais.ac.nz

  • Korea

    • Sue Park

      Marketing Manager - Korea
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext. 630
      Email: suep@ais.ac.nz

  • Student Support

    • Alarna Asher

      Industry Placement Manager
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext. 821
      Phone: +64 21 223 2847
      Email: alarnaa@ais.ac.nz

    • Ashley Brown Andersen

      Student Careers Centre Supervisor / Industry Placement
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext. 824
      Email: ashleyb@ais.ac.nz

    • Tamendi Pranish

      Study Skills Advisor
      MA TESOL (NZ), PGDipSLT (NZ), B. Ed (Language and Literature) (Fiji), DipTchg (Fiji), Cert TEFL (Sydney), Cert TESL
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 841
      Email: tamendip@ais.ac.nz

    • Deborah Hollier

      Homestay Coordinator
      Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 638
      Phone: +64 21 0849 7828
      Email: homestay@ais.ac.nz